Home / Featured / Osun Assembly inaugurates impeachment panel

Osun Assembly inaugurates impeachment panel

The Osun State House of Assembly yesterday inaugurated a committee to investigate the petition by a judge of the state High Court, Justice Folahanmi Oloyede, seeking the impeachment of Governor Rauf Aregbesola. Justice Oloyede, in her petition, accused Aregbesola of misappropriating public funds. At the inauguration of the nine-member committee, the Speaker, Najeem Salaam, said the petition would be given a fair treatment. Deputy Speaker Akintunde Adegboye is the Chairman. The Majority Leader, Timothy Owoeye, is Secretary. Other members are Oladoyin Olayinka, Afolabi Olalekan, Adeleke Ogunsola, Gbola Adebayo and Akinola Olasunkani. The House’s Director of Legal Services, Kayode Titiloye and the Director of Legislative Management, Simeon Akinwale Amunsan, will assist the lawmakers in technical areas. According to the Speaker, the committee has two weeks to carry out its assignment and summit its final report. Salaam added that the committee’s recommendations would be subjected to the final deliberation of the lawmakers. Adegboye assured that the committee would investigate the matter without any sentiment. The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has rejected the composition of the committee. A statement by its Director of Media and Strategy, Diran Odeyemi, said the APC lawmakers were not clever by leaving out the two PDP members of the House. The PDP accused the lawmakers of acting out the script prepared by the governor. Source: The Nation Newspaper[ninja-popup id=1406 autoopen=true]


Check Also

Osinbajo’s Remarks During His Meeting With South East Leaders

Text Of Opening Remarks Made By The Acting President Yemi Osinbajo, San, At The Meeting …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

3 × 2 =